Menu Subscribe Search



Subscribe for the Latest Music News

Enter your email address below to subscribe to a regular(ish) dose of AAA Backstage goodness direct to your inbox.

Australian Hardcore Heavyweights Announce Silverchair Tribute Album

Some of the biggest acts in the Australian heavy music scene have banded together to record a tribute album celebrating 20 years of Silverchair’s ‘Freakshow’. Titled ‘Spawn (Again): A Tribute To Silverchair’, the record is released on November 17 via UNFD.

Joining the fray on the album will be the Amity Affliction tackling Tomorrow; In Hearts Wake taking on FreakWithout You will be covered by Tonight Alive; Ocean Grove pummelling the classic, Spawn (Again); and none other than Northlane, with their take on Anthem For The Year 2000, which is the lead single of the album available to stream below.

Guitarist from Northlane, Jon Deiley, states that Anthem For The Year 2000 was the first Silverchair song he had heard when he was younger:

Anthem For The Year 2000 was the first Silverchair song I ever heard. To me as a young kid, it was intense and heavy and it wasn’t til a few years later that I really began to appreciate the impact their music had on me at an early age. I think Australia’s love for Silverchair runs deep and their influence on Australian music is still felt today. There’s very few bands who can bring together artists to celebrate their work, and Silverchair is one of them,” said Deiley.

Read the whole track listing below and preorder the album HERE.

  1. The Amity Affliction – Tomorrow
  2. Void of Vision – Israel’s Son
  3. In Hearts Wake – Freak
  4. The Brave – Cemetery
  5. Northlane – Anthem For The Year 2000
  6. Hands Like Houses – Ana’s Song (Open Fire)
  7. Ocean Grove – Spawn (Again)
  8. Storm The Sky – Emotion Sickness
  9. Tonight Alive – Without You
  10. Columbus – Straight Lines

Written by Brett Sellwood