Menu Subscribe Search



Subscribe for the Latest Music News

Enter your email address below to subscribe to a regular(ish) dose of AAA Backstage goodness direct to your inbox.

Cold Chisel Still Chipping Away At Milestones

Cold Chisel

If you’ve ever belted out a great rendition of Flame Trees in a karaoke bar, you’ll be pleased to know that legendary Aussie rockers Cold Chisel are set to receive the prestigious Ted Albert Award for Outstanding Services to Australian Music at the 2016 APRA Music Awards.

After a music career spanning over 40 years, countless live performances, and almost seven million albums sold, Cold Chisel will received the well-deserved award at the ceremony on Tuesday. Previous recipients of the award include renowned frontman-turned-solo rocker Paul Kelly, folk-pop quartet The Seekers, and late great country singer-songwriter Slim Dusty.

The performance line-up for the ceremony features Australian national treasure Guy Sebastian, indie pop 4-piece San Cisco, and punk rockers The Living End, still going strong after 22 years. The APRA Music Awards also boast a celebrated list of presenters, including Archibald Prize-winning visual artist Ben Quilty.

To whet our appetites days before the ceremony, APRA AMCOS has announced the International Work Of The Year Award will go to Mark Ronson and Bruno Mars for Uptown Funk after the song topped over 30 music charts around the world.


Carriageworks, Sydney

2016 APRA Music Awards

Written by Jess Martyn