Menu Subscribe Search



Subscribe for the Latest Music News

Enter your email address below to subscribe to a regular(ish) dose of AAA Backstage goodness direct to your inbox.

De La Soul Announce Album & Release Single “Pain” feat. Snoop Dogg

De La Press

With their last album released 11 years ago, it’s been a long wait for fans of the classic New York jazz rap trio. To put an end to this, De La Soul have now disclosed two new tracks, Pain and Trainwreck, from their forthcoming album ‘And The Anonymous Nobody’.

The new project has quite an interesting origin, beginning as a Kickstarter campaign last year it which quickly surpassed it’s goal, going on to make over USD $600,000. Yearning to make a heavily sampled album akin to their older work, De La Soul spent years in the studio recording over 300 hours of live music, essentially creating a catalogue they were free to chop up and use.

A by-product of this, last month they released the first single Trainwreck, a dark, slap bass driven track reminiscent of hip-hop’s early days with a clean and refreshing take.

To follow this, the Long Island trio have now released Pain, an extremely funky and easy going tune featuring none other than the West Coast legend himself Snoop Dogg. Posdnuos offers the first verse, clean slick rhymes separated by the soulful chorus which sounds like it was taken straight off an 80s disco record.

Snoop’s verse, sandwiched between the two De La members’, certainly makes up for those cheesy pop features he’s been making recently – his vintage laid back lines instantly remind us why he truly is the king of the West Coast.

‘And The Anonymous Nobody’ is set to feature Jill Scott, Roc Marciano, Justin Hawkins, David Byrne, Usher, Little Dragon, Damon Albarn and 2Chainz, a plethora of features with both new and old artists, collaborations which definitely have a sense of mystery to them.

De La Soul’s eighth studio album ‘And The Anonymous Nobody’ is set for release Friday 26th of August, check out the full tracklist below and catch the preorder HERE.

De La Soul Album Tracklist And Artwork