Menu Subscribe Search



Subscribe for the Latest Music News

Enter your email address below to subscribe to a regular(ish) dose of AAA Backstage goodness direct to your inbox.

Entries For 2017 Queensland Music Awards Close Soon, First Judges Announced


The 2017 Queensland Music Awards are really starting to take shape, with QMusic revealing a massive range of music and media identities enlisted with the unenviable task of selecting this year’s finalists and eventual winners across all categories.

Queensland musicians will have the opportunity to have their music heard by prominent national and international industry executives and professionals.

The judging panel group consists of over 60 judges and includes several internationals, and a panel of nationally respected music journalists, artist managers, A&R and label reps, booking agents, and plenty of publishers and publicists. Headlining the first announcement of judges include triple j personalities Dom Alessio and Lochlan Watt, UNFD honcho, Luke Logemann, and Queensland heavy music advocate Tim Price.

The ceremony will take place at the Brisbane Powerhouse on the 27th of March, with tickets available to the public early next year.

2017 Queensland Music Awards Judging Panel

Adam Lewis – Owner, PLANETARY (USA)
Andrew Stafford – Author, Freelance Journalist
Andrew Stone – Head of Chugg Music, CHUGG MUSIC
Andrew Tuttle – Writer Services Representative, APRA AMCOS
Ben Godding – Marketing Director, KOBALT MUSIC RECORDINGS
Ben Preece – Director, MUCHO BRAVADO
Chris Cobcroft – Music Co-Coordinator, 4ZZZ
Clare Armstrong – Journalist, THE COURIER-MAIL
Dan Condon – Music Editor, DOUBLE J
David Dickenson – Founder / Owner, SUICIDE SQUEEZE RECORDS (USA)
David Cashman – Associate Professor of Creative Arts, CQUNIVERSITY
DJ Katch – Director / A&R / Producer and DJ, HYDROFUNK RECORDS
Dom Alessio – Host of Home & Hosed, TRIPLE J
Dominic Miller – Manager/Booking Agent, BLUEBEARD MUSIC/NEW WORLD
Emma Jones – Editor, PURPLE SNEAKERS
Evan Alexander – Director, HEAPSAFLASH
Gareth Bryant – National Music & Comedy Editor, SCENESTR – EYEBALL MEDIA
Graham Ashton – Director, FOOTSTOMP MUSIC
Helen Russell – Lecturer, Music, USQ
Innez Tulloch – Arts Administration/Facilitation, 4ZZZ
Jack Bridges – Head of International Account Management, BEATPORT (GERMANY)
Jim Budd – Jazz musician
Johann Ponniah Founder/Director, I OH YOU
John Mullen – Head of A&R and Executive Producer, DEW PROCESS
Julia Bridger – Producer, BLEACH* FESTIVAL
Karen Dagg – Senior Marketing Manager, POLYDOR RECORDS, UNIVERSAL MUSIC (UK)
Katrine Sviland – Music Critic, AFTENPOSTEN (NORWAY)
Knox Lovell – Host, The Jazz Show, 4ZZZ
Lars Brandle – Australia Correspondent, BILLBOARD
Lochlan Watt – Host of THE RACKET, TRIPLE J
Lou Ridsdale – Owner, LANCE ROCK PUBLICITY
Luke Logemann – Head of Recorded Music and Touring, UNIFIED
Mace Francis Lecturer in Jazz Composition and Arranging, WA ACADEMY OF
Maggie Collins – Executive Programmer, BIGSOUND
Mark Smith – Executive Director, MUSICNT
Matt Lymbury – Content Director, NIGHTLIFE MUSIC
Michelle O’Rance – Radio Announcer, 4ZZZ
Mitch Knox – Digital Editor, THE MUSIC
Nicola Pitt – Artist Manager, CAAMA MUSIC
Noel Mengel – Freelance Writer
Ozi Batla – Artist, ELEFANT TRAKS
Ragz Nordset – Head of Department for Entertainment Management, JMC
Rick Heritage – Radio Announcer, World Music Shows, 4EB / 4ZZZ
Sam Cook – Director, KISSMYBLAKARTS
Samuel J Fell – Freelance Journalist
Samantha Morris – Editor, BLANK GOLD COAST
Shayne Armstrong – Writer/Producer, ARMSTRONG + KRAUSE SCREENWRITING
Sky Kirkham – Radio Announcer, 4ZZZ
Steve Bell – Senior Contributor / Co-owner, THE MUSIC / SONIC SHERPA
Tanya-Hiroko Martin – Producer, BEMAC
Tim Pellegrino – Owner, THE FEELS AGENCY
Tim Price – Publicist, COLLISION COURSE
Tom Osborn – VP Marketing, NEW WEST RECORDS (USA)
Trevor Jackson – Editor, SOUND DISTRACTIONS
Tyler McLoughlan – Music Licensing Agent, THE SOUND POUND
Vanessa Fernandez – Program Director, LUSH 99.5FM (SINGAPORE)
+ more to be announced

2016 QMA winners included Violent Soho for Best Rock Album, Sahara Beck for Best Folk Singer/Songwriter release, and the Billy Thorpe Scholarship Award going to the talented Luke Peacock. Entries for the 2017 Queensland Music Awards close this coming Sunday, 4th of December.

To enter click HERE.

Written by Sam Muggleton