Menu Subscribe Search



Subscribe for the Latest Music News

Enter your email address below to subscribe to a regular(ish) dose of AAA Backstage goodness direct to your inbox.

Gold Coast Music Awards 2018 Nominations Open; Announce Live Lineup

Coming into its fourth year, and only gaining more momentum, the Gold Coast Music Awards have, today, opened nominations for its 2018 proceedings. Additionally, organisers behind the grassroots awards ceremony have unveiled the lineup for its free live lineup.

Again taking place on the beach at the Surfer Paradise foreshore, with the city and the beach as their backdrop, the GCMAs take place on Thursday 3 May with a coinciding free live outdoor concert. To be in the running for the GCMAs, you’ll need to nominate yourself HERE—they open today and close 2 March. Categories such as Album of the Year, Artist of the Year, Song of the Year and more are up for grabs for Gold Coast bands, musicians, artists and others. Not to mention the addition of their new awards: Live Act of the Year.

For those who can’t attend the awards ceremony, don’t worry, as the Gold Coast musical talent is shared around to everyone with a free gig on Surfers Paradise beach. This year, organisers have roped in Bobby Alu, Electrik Lemonade, Hussy Hicks and Eliza & the Delusionals.

In more good news for the awards’ longevity, Gold Coast Music Awards and Surfers Paradise Alliance have secured their partnership for the next five years. This means the event will be apart of Surfers Paradise LIVE—which features Daryl Braithwaite, Jon Stevens and Kate Ceberano. This deal only means that, according event organiser, Samantha Morris, Gold Coast music will continue to have a huge platform for the local and national community.

The Gold Coast Music Awards continues to attract national attention to the City’s burgeoning music scene, celebrating local artists’ outstanding successes in the past year through an exciting, respected industry awards night,” said Morris.

Last year, Gold Coast greats such as Amy Shark, Tesla Cøils and Lane Harry x Ike Campbell took the biggest awards while Blues on Broadbeach swept Event of the Year and elsewhere snagged Venue of the Year.

Written by Jake Wilton