Menu Subscribe Search



Subscribe for the Latest Music News

Enter your email address below to subscribe to a regular(ish) dose of AAA Backstage goodness direct to your inbox.

Shortlist Announced For 2016 APRA Song Of The Year


Music Industry body APRA AMCOS have announced the top 20 contenders for the prestigious APRA Song of the Year.

The song list features a mix of songs by artists including Daniel Johns, Don Walker, and The Waifs, alongside first time finalists Perth psych rockers Pond and Jarryd James.

Even after 25 years, the competition’s shortlist continues to reflect the diversity found in Australian music, with artists such as Troy Cassar-Daley making the shortlist along modern superstars C.W. Stoneking and Tame Impala.

APRA AMCOS members have until 5pm AEDST on Tuesday 9th February to cast their vote. Members who vote go in the running to win a Gibson Les Paul Special DoubleCut valued at $2,299 plus two tickets to the 2016 APRA Music Awards.

Top 20 Contenders for 2016 APRA Song of the Year:

  • 1969 – Seth Sentry
  • 6000 Miles – The Waifs
  • Aerial Love – Daniel Johns
  • A-Grade Playa – Sheppard
  • Anchor – Birds of Tokyo
  • Another Australian Day – Troy Cassar-Daley
  • Bend – Chet Faker
  • Borderline With My Atoms – Hiatus Kaiyote
  • Breathing Underwater – Hiatus Kaiyote
  • Dead Fox – Courtney Barnett
  • Do You Remember – Jarryd James
  • Eventually – Tame Impala
  • Freedom Ride – Troy Cassar-Daley feat. Paul Kelly
  • Georgia – Vance Joy
  • Let It Happen – Tame Impala
  • Lost – Cold Chisel
  • Pedestrian At Best – Courtney Barnett
  • Secondhand Man – Shane Nicholson
  • The Zombie – C.W. Stoneking
  • Zond – Pond