Menu Subscribe Search



Subscribe for the Latest Music News

Enter your email address below to subscribe to a regular(ish) dose of AAA Backstage goodness direct to your inbox.

The Lovely Eggs Reveal Hypnotic Album, ‘Eggsistentialism’

UK psych-punk duo The Lovely Eggs are back with their seventh studio album, Eggsistentialism. Known for their cosmic, brain-bending tracks like My Mood Wave and Memory Man, The Lovely Eggs continue to push boundaries with this hypnotic new release.

Recorded at home in the UK and produced by Dave Fridmann, who has worked with Flaming Lips and Tame Impala, the album was mixed in Fridmann’s New York studio. The result is a collection of ten expansive and mind-melting songs, marking their most ambitious work yet.

Holly, one half of the duo, describes the new album as a reflection of their experiences over the past few years. “It’s about loss and strength. On this album, you’ll hear us at our lowest and most vulnerable,” she explains. Tracks range from the punk rock opener Death Grip Kids to the seven-minute psychedelic Nothing/Everything, capturing a wide spectrum of emotions.

“It’s a bit of a ‘wilderness years’ album,” Holly continues. “We’ve been fighting to maintain our lifestyle as working musicians in our town for the last 30+ years, refusing to get a ‘normal’ job.”

The Lovely Eggs are as authentically DIY as they come. With six albums under their belt and performances alongside Los Bitchos and The Brian Jonestown Massacre, they remain one of the most exciting and genuine bands around.

Eggsistentialism is available now, offering a fresh taste of The Lovely Eggs’ innovative sound.

Written by Chris Lamaro