Menu Subscribe Search



Subscribe for the Latest Music News

Enter your email address below to subscribe to a regular(ish) dose of AAA Backstage goodness direct to your inbox.

Troy Cassar-Daley Takes Home Five Golden Guitars For ‘Freedom Ride’


Troy Cassar-Daley has done it again! Australia’s legendary country music star took home a whopping five Golden Guitars at this year’s 44th Country Music Awards of Australia in Tamworth.

His 35th consecutive year at the Tamworth Country Music Festival, Troy won Album of the Year, Male Artist of the Year, Heritage Song of the Year, and APRA Song of the Year for ‘Freedom Ride,’ his ninth acclaimed album released just March of last year. Take A Walk In My Country, the first song off ‘Freedom Ride,’ also won Single of the Year.

‘Freedom Ride’ was inspired by challenges that Indigenous Australians have faced throughout history. The song tells the story of Charlie Perkins’ journey around northern New South Wales half a century ago to advocate for the rights of Indigenous Australians.

“As a part of the Aboriginal studies, I did a project about Charles Perkins and the people who rode the Freedom Ride bus, who were from all walks of life. Charlie was a hero to me because he talked about equality, and improving the lives and conditions of Indigenous Australians living out in the rural regions and cities,” Troy explains.

As an album that conveys just a taste of what must’ve been a massive journey for those seeking to learn more about the challenges of Indigenous life, ‘Freedom Ride’ has succeeded in shaking mainstream perceptions of Australian culture.

Topping off Troy’s well deserved and remarkable week, APRA has announced that two of ‘Freedom Ride’’s songs were shortlisted in the Top 20 contenders for the 2016 APRA Song of the Year: Another Australian Day, collaborated with Pete Denahy, and Freedom Ride, collaborated with Paul Kelly.

Other artists who took home Golden Guitars include Lee Kernaghan for his album, ‘Spirit of the Anzacs,’ and Catherine Britt for Female Artist of the Year.